2023 Dick Crumback/NEIBA High School Player of the Year

The Northeast Indiana Baseball Association will be reaching out to the Northeast Indiana high school baseball coaches to help in the process of finding our 4th Annual Dick Crumback/NEIBA High School Player of the Year. The award is eligible for any player currently in a high school that is in Allen County or a county that is touching Allen County and in the state of Indiana. We have included some information below about our award. 

First off, the award is named after long time amateur baseball supporter, Dick Crumback. The Crumback family has also stepped forward to not only be there to award the winner during our NEIBA Banquet in late May/early June, but along with the Fort Wayne Baseball Federation (FWBF), they are sending a one time scholarship in the amount of $1,000 to the high school baseball program recipient. To reiterate, this won’t go to a general high school fund; it will be earmarked specifically for that school’s baseball program. The Crumback family and FWBF feel this not only honors Dick’s memory, but also benefits baseball in our area overall.

Each head coach will submit the players from their program who they feel could be eligible for a player of the year award. There is no limit to the number of players they can put up for this award. The deadline to submit players will be March 10 at 11:59 p.m. This list will then be sent out to the media on March 15th just in time for the beginning of the baseball season in the state of Indiana. ONLY PLAYERS SENT PRIOR TO MARCH 10TH AT 11:59 PM WILL BE ELIGIBLE.

Next, we will be contacting coaches again in late April for current stats and information as to a more focused list of players as we prepare for our banquet in late May. We will take the list down to just a handful of players eligible to win the award at this time. We again will notify the media of our paired down list. This will also allow coaches to notify any families that their son is in our final group and the possibility of attending our banquet. 

We appreciate the high school coaches in their help as we honor our fourth HS player of the year!

2019 – Grant Besser from South Adams High School
2020 – No IHSAA Season
2021 – Carter Mathison from Homestead High School
2022 – Dalton Wasson from Heritage High School

We wish everyone the best of luck in your upcoming season!

If you have any questions, feel free to contact Gary Rogers at grogers@eacs.k12.in.us or Brett Windmiller at brett.windmiller@nacs.k12.in.us